Multan is the 6th Team for PSL 2018

PSL have Multan as sixth team from 3rd Edition

Multan is the 6th team to be included for PSL 3rd edition 2018. Pakistan Super League supremo Najam Sethi confirmed that the 2018 Pakistan Super League will see an additional sixth team featuring in the competition.
Regions that were shortlisted for PSL 2018: According to the latest update, five regions have been shortlisted from where this sixth PSL team could be hosted – Hyderabad, Multan, FATA, Faisalabad and Dera Murad Jamali.
Potential bidders can pick up their documents from the PCB office by May 15 and submit their technical and financial bids by May 30. These bids will be opened on May 30 and only those bids which qualify based on their technical bids will go into the next round which will be executed by the opening of the financial bids on May 31.
The sixth team will be allowed to pick around 10 players from the various categories; players who are released by the other five teams. As a result, they will enter the PSL Draft on a level-playing field for the rest of the five teams.
Sethi said that the initial agreement with the rest of the franchises allowed the League to introduce a sixth team following two editions of the tournament and that the next edition of the PSL will see the inclusion of a sixth team.
The PSL chairman said that the inclusion of a sixth team will see an increase in the number of matches which means that the duration of the tournament would also increase. The move will have a knock on effect on expenses but revenue is expected to be the same unless the tournament is shifted in part or in its totality to Pakistan.
Sethi hoped that the PSL governing body was looking at the possibility of hosting the 2018 final at Karachi while also making efforts aimed at hosting more matches within Pakistan.
The chairman did not hide his delight at Lahore hosting the final this year and said that the fact that the event was large without incident served to deliver a message to the rest of the world as well.
While Sethi admitted that there was always the risk of political forces using the opportunity to further their own needs, the chairman was optimistic about hosting the PSL 2018 final in Lahore.
The big question is whether the Pakistan Super League should add a sixth team into their lineup of the five sides that are already a part of the competition?
There is a possibility that the new team will be named after the Azad Kashmir region. In fact, in December, the PCB chief Najam Sethi had tweeted that it was his dream to launch the sixth team in the PSLand name it after Kashmir. In the same tweet, he had also wished that the five existing franchises support the idea. While Peshawar owner Javed Afridi threw his support behind the board president, support was not forthcoming from the four other franchises. While Sethi revealed that the name for the new franchise has not been agreed, he also mentioned that it would not be possible to include a new franchise without the support of the existing teams in the PSL.
Currently, the PSL has five teams competing for honors – Lahore, Quetta, Karachi, Peshawar and Islamabad.

Updated: June 1, 2017 — 3:35 pm

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *