Multan Sultan is back

Ali Tareen sixth team

The title name Sultan is back to Multan after fans wanted old name to be retained, announced the team owner of Multan on 6th January.
The sixth franchise of Pakistan Super League (PSL), got its new owners in December 2018. Ali Tareen, son of political leader Jahangir Tareen won the bid for the sixth team for seven years with an exceeded reserve price.
Multan Sultan was previously sold for $5.2m to Schon Group but just after a year they failed to clear payment and as a result, PCB terminated their eight-year franchise rights. With this termination, all the rights reverted back to PCB.
Ali wanted to keep the team in South Punjab and he succeeded in it. He did not change the name of the team as he wanted his team to represent one of the major cities of South Punjab. Although he wanted to have a new title name for his franchise.
While addressing to media after winning bid he said if his team had no reservations over the former name, he would go with the same name. But he also asked for a new name from fans.
From suggestions from fans, officials narrowed it down to four names including Multan Malang, Multan Janoobis, Multan Saints and Multan Bahadurs. Out of hundred, Malang got 34% votes while in a close competition Bahadurs got 33% votes. Saints also earned 24% votes and Janoobis could only get 8% votes.
In a poll run by team officials, Malang and Bahadurs got maximum votes which turned out to be a tough competition between two names.
Multan officials then reached out to the people of South Punjab seeking their suggestions. Some of them wanted Malangs, some went for Bahadurs while many of them wanted to go with the same name as in the previous edition.
Owner of Multan Sultan, in a video message issued on Twitter, announced the name of the team to be Multan Sultan upon fans’ choice.
The team management of Multan Sultan will remain the same. While a few big names have joined Multan Sultans for the fourth edition of PSL. Superstar Shahid Afridi, Steve Smith, and Joe Denly are among the newcomers. Shoaib Malik will lead the side this time again. Wasim Akram who was Multan’s director in previous season has joined a new team for PSL 2019.

Updated: January 8, 2019 — 2:48 am

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *