Quetta Gladiators Team Players, Team Squad and Stats

Quetta Gladiators Team 2018 Players List

Quetta Gladiators is a Pakistani professional Twenty20 cricket franchise that competes in the Pakistan Super League (PSL). The team is nominally based in Quetta, the provincial capital of Balochistan, Pakistan.


The franchise was established in 2015 as a result of the formation of the PSL by the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) and is owned by Omar Associates. Team’s home ground is Bugti Stadium.As of 2017, the team is captained by Pakistan ODI and T20I skipper Sarfraz Ahmed and coached by former Pakistani cricketer Moin Khan.

In December 2015 the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) unveiled the owners of all five city-based franchises for the inaugural season the Pakistan Super League. The Quetta franchise was sold to the Karachi-based company Omar Associates for US$11 Million.

Owner:  Nadeem Omer

Captain:  Sarfraz Ahmed

Coach: Moin Khan

Home Ground: Ayub National Stadium

Founded: 2016

Team identity

The team name and the official logo were revealed on 6 January 2016 in Quetta during a ceremony held by team owner Nadeem Omar. The logo depicts a variant of the ancient Roman ‘Galea’ helmet, worn by gladiators during their fights. The helmet is flanked by two bats that are poised as gladiatorial swords.The team’s primary kit colors are Purple and Golden. The kit was revealed on 7 January 2016 at a launch ceremony held in Quetta.

Singer Faakhir Mehmood is the brand ambassador of the team. He joined Faheem Allan Fakir to sing the theme song of the team; “Chaa Jaye Quetta”.

In early 2017, Quetta chose pop singer Annie Khalid as their team ambassador.Other notables joining Quetta in ambassadorial roles are Chaman-based footballer Kaleemullahand Quetta-based MMA fighter Ahmed Mujtaba.

For the season 2016, Edenrobe and ACM Gold were the team’s title sponsor and official partners respectively.For the second season, Jubilee Insurance became Quetta’s main title sponsor.Master Oil is Quetta’s Associate sponsor and Chocka and KHL are team’s official partners.PTV Sports and Suno FM 89.4 are official media partners.Tapmad is team’s official streaming partner.

Ahead of 2017 season, team’s official mascot was revealed making Quetta Gladiators the first team to officially introduce a mascot for the tournament.Mascot name is “Gladdy”.

Quetta Gladiators Current Squad

QG’s PSL 2018 Squad is as below.

  • Sarfraz Ahmed
  • Kevin Pietersen
  • Rilee Rossouw
  • Asad Shafiq
  • Mahmoodullah
  • Anwar Ali
  • Mir Hamza
  • Umar Amin
  • Shane Watson
  • Carlos Braithwaite
  • Rahat Ali
  • Ramiz Raja Jnr
  • Saad Ali
  • Saud Shakil
  • Hasaan Khan
  • Jason Roy
  • Rashid Khan
  • Mohammad Azam Khan
  • Faraz Ahmed

Quetta Gladiators have already appointed their coaching staff ahead of the player auctions. Former Pakistan wicketkeeper Moin Khan has been named the head coach while Abdul Razzaq and Julien Fountain appointed as the assistant/bowling coach and the fielding coach respectively.

Quetta Gladiators have released Sri Lankan batsman Kumar Sangakkara who joined Karachi Kings.

With West Indian captain Carlos Brathwaite is opting to focus his attention on his domestic structure and for national commitments, Mahmudullah Riad has made it to the squad.

English all-rounder Moeen Ali was initially picked but stepped down due to personal commitments. Roman Powell has been ruled out, while Mohammad Nabi has opted to not feature in the tournament which gives Nathan McCullum and Rilee Rossouw a chance, while David Willey’s injury during the series against India allows Lankan all-rounder Thisara Perera an opportunity in the squad.

The side has done quite well in the PSL player draft held on October 19. They will be skippered by Sarfraz Khan, who has broken into the Pakistan national team and has done well in recent matches for the side.

Ahmed Shehzad, Anwar Ali, Umar Gul, Zulfiqar Babar and Asad Shafiq complete the list of full Pakistan internationals who have been included on the side.

Gul has been a fading force of late, but his experience with the ball is likely to come in handy. Shehzad and Shafiq are in their primes and are likely to be crucial players for this franchise. Mohammad Nawaz and Saad Nasim are the emerging cricketers from Pakistan who have been afforded an opportunity with this team with the former having recently played for Pakistan in international as well.

Rilee Rossouw and Kevin Pietersen are the two big names that have been picked up by this team as well. Both batsmen will be available for the entire duration of the tournament. Pietersen was sacked by the ECB last summer and has featured prominently in T20 leagues after that. Luke Wright, Tymal Mills, and Mahmudullah Riyad complete their international player’s list.

The Quetta Gladiators are representatives of the Quetta province that represents the Balochistan province and has been bought by Omar Associates for $1.1 million (USD). There were not a lot of bids placed for this franchise which meant that Omar Associates were able to walk away with 10-year rights to the franchise for less money compared to the four other franchises. Quetta Gladiators team squad players list is placed below.

PSL 2018 Quetta Gladiators Schedule

QG team schedule is placed below;

Date Quetta Gladiators Fixtures Venue
February 10 Lahore vs. Quetta Dubai
February 11 Quetta vs. Karachi Dubai
February 15 Islamabad vs. Quetta Sharjah
February 17 Peshawar vs. Quetta Sharjah
February 18 Quetta vs. Lahore Sharjah
February 23 Karachi vs. Quetta Dubai
February 24 Quetta vs. Islamabad Dubai
February 25 Peshawar vs. Quetta Dubai
Your Name D.O.B. Position
first Second Third
first Second Third
first Second Third
first Second Third
first Second Third
first Second Third
first Second Third
first Second Third
first Second Third
first Second Third
Updated: November 12, 2018 — 7:08 pm

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *