World XI Tour of Pakistan – Squad, Schedule, Player Stats

With the World XI now confirmed and all set to tour Pakistan for a three-match T20I series in September, here is a profile of each of the 14 members of the star-studded team, which will be led by South Africa skipper Faf du Plessis. 

Faf du Plessis – captain (South Africa)

Francois “Faf” du Plessis is the captain of South Africa across all formats of the game. The 33-year-old right-handed middle-order batsman made his T20 international debut against England at Chester-le-Street on Sep 8, 2012 and has played 169 T20s to date.
Known for his sophisticated and stylish batting, du Plessis enjoys a T20 average of 27.48 and a strike rate of 124.11. He also has a century and 20 fifties to his name in the format.

Grant Elliott (New Zealand)

Grant Elliott, also fondly known as the ‘Hairy Javelin’ among Kiwi fans, represented New Zealand from 2008 to 2016 as an all-rounder famous for his explosive batting and skilful bowling.
From his 132 T20s, he has an average of 23.16 and a strike rate of 128.67, along with 92 wickets.
The 38-year-old rose to global fame after steering New Zealand to a nerve-wracking, historic semi-final win against South Africa in the 2015 World Cup, and has also featured in both editions of the Pakistan Super League. Remember the ‘Bat Drop’, anyone?

Hashim Amla (South Africa)

Former South Africa captain and a permanent fixture of the Protean batting, Hashim Amla made his T20I debut against Australia in 2009 and has played 117 T20s to date, with an average of 33.75 and a strike rate of 128.57.
Amla has several accolades to his name. The 34-year-old was the first batsman from South Africa to score a triple century in Tests and the fastest batsman to score 7,000 ODI runs. He has 23 fifties and two centuries in T20s.

Tamim Iqbal (Bangladesh)

Tamim Iqbal is Bangladesh’s most successful batsman ever, being the highest run scorer in his country’s history in all three formats of the game.
The 28-year-old left-handed opener made his international T20 debut in 2007 at the age of just 18. He has played 142 T20s, with an average of 30.10 and a strike rate of 118.32. He also represents Peshawar Zalmi in PSL.

David Miller (South Africa)

David Miller, an aggressive left-handed middle-order batsman, got his T20I cap against West Indies in 2010 and has an average of 34.58 and strike rate of 137.63 from 232 T20 matches.
Feared for his explosive batting, 28-year-old Miller is a regular member of the Protean squad and has formerly captained Kings XI Punjab in the Indian Premier League.

Paul Collingwood (England)

Paul Collingwood led England to their first ever ICC trophy with the T20 World Cup win in 2010. He hung up his boots in 2011 after becoming a three-times Ashes winner as England won the 2010-11 series in Australia for the first time in 24 years.
The 41-year-old has played 135 T20s and sports an average of 21.15 and a strike rate of 122.57.

Darren Sammy (West Indies)

West Indian heartthrob Darren Sammy is a two-time T20 World Cup winning captain (2012 and 2016) – the only captain to do so. He has featured in 250 T20 matches, with an average of 20.73 and a strike rate of 139.56. A medium-paced bowler, he also has 155 wickets to his name.
Sammy, 33, captained Peshawar Zalmi to victory in the historic PSL final in Lahore earlier this year, winning hearts along the way with his endearing ‘selfie’ pose and dance moves.

Morne Morkel (South Africa)

Part of South Africa’s lethal pace attack alongside Dale Steyn, Vernon Philander and Rabada, Morne Morkel is one of the most feared strike bowlers in world cricket.
Sporting a combination of deceptive pace and bounce, the 32-year-old has appeared in 161 T20s, with 175 wickets at an average of 25.37, his best being 4/17.

Imran Tahir (South Africa)

The Lahore-born Imran Tahir is the most feared spinner in the South African team, with 176 T20 appearances and 209 wickets in the format (his best being 5/24).
The leg-spinner, who has previously topped ICC ODI and T20 rankings for bowlers, is currently ranked second in ODIs and third in T20Is. He is also one of the most entertaining cricketers around; anyone who has seen his wicket celebrations can testify to that (just by the way, why hasn’t anyone measured how fast he runs after getting a wicket?)

Samuel Badree (West Indies)

Samuel Badree is one of the most lethal leg-spinners in world cricket right now, especially with the new ball in T20 format of the game.
From 177 T20 appearances, he has 176 wickets at an average of 20.80, with best figures of 5/22.
After making his T20 international debut for the West Indies in June 2012 against New Zealand, he has also featured in CPL, IPL, Bangladesh’s BPL, Australia’s Big Bash, and PSL franchise Islamabad United.

George Bailey (Australia)

Formerly the captain of the Australian T20I team and vice-captain of the Australian ODI team, George Bailey has played 170 T20s with an average of 29.66 and strike rate of 130.83.
He has 20 half-centuries in the format.

Ben Cutting (Australia)

A star player of Australia’s Big Bash franchise Brisbane Heat, Ben Cutting has also represented Australian national team in 4 ODIs and 4 T20Is.
A middle-order batsman and medium-paced bowler, he has played 71 T20s, scoring at an average of 21.76 and strike rate of 156.64. The 30-year-old has bagged 57 T20 wickets, with best figures of 3/24.

Thisara Perera (Sri Lanka)

Primarily a bowling all-rounder, Thisara Perera is also an aggressive left-handed batsman with expertise in death batting.
He is a veteran of 208 T20 matches, with 188 wickets (best haul of 5/26). He has a batting average of 18.66 and a strike rate of 140.13.

Tim Paine – wicketkeeper (Australia)

Tim Paine has represented Australia in 8 T20Is, 26 ODIs and 4 Tests. The wicket-keeper batsman, who also plays for Big Bash team Hobart Hurricanes, has 74 appearances in T20s, with an average of 23.87 and a strike rate of 123.99.

World XI vs Pakistan 2017 Schedule

1st T20 International: September 12
2nd T20 International: September 13
3rd T20 International: September 15
Updated: September 12, 2018 — 12:48 pm

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *